top of page

A Romantic Dessert for Two


A little something decadent for hubby and I...

Hello All!


I was asleep with the due date of last weeks Romancing the Home, Dinner for Two challenge...just kidding, I actually had my nephew visiting from England with his partner, what a treat! So I didn't do the dinner for two...BUT, I present you now with Dessert for Two!


Like I say, often, better late than never!

This one will be short and sweet, mind the pun...because it really was sweet, and a little sour, and a whole lot of YUMMY!


I don't generally do soppy-whoppy romance at home, not where the kids can see, I have boys mostly, aged 12, 10 and 6 and trust me, they are not interested in having to witness this kind of thing, which I am grateful for, especially considering they went to their very first Valentine's Dance at school this year (the older two) which I do not completely agree with for young children, but after much begging and pleading from the heart breaker 10-year-old to attend with his girl friend (please note the space), I gave in.


Hubby and I have some pretty special memories attached to this day though! I'll never forget our first Valentine's...I was showered with so much Romance, he didn't have to do a thing for the next 5 years! I got Poetry (written by hubby, who is a wonderful writer and musician) and Chocolate and Red Roses and a movie, but not just any movie! We went to see Beauty and The Beast at Imax with that 'never-before-heard' song! (We call our daughter Belle, coincidence?) Afterward, we went for dinner and had such a laugh at our choice, Spur is not date food! Especially when you go for ribs and end up having them slip out of your greasy fingers and go flying across the table! And then, last but not least, something we wouldn't forget, ever...the car was stolen!


Aah, good times! But enough reminiscing, have a look at how I made this scrumptious dessert so you can do it too! It's so easy...


I used a single layer Red Velvet, recipe below (I always divide a single batch into two pans when I bake my cakes, I find it allows more rise) and a tart tin for the shape. I spread a reasonable thickness (about half an inch) dark chocolate ganache (shared by Our Unique Home last week) and then piped whipped cream (Orley Whip) in little mounds, awaiting the raspberries.



I piped some melted dark chocolate onto wax wrap over the tin a little earlier to get my heart shape. Because of the squiggle, it had to be lifted off extremely carefully! I drizzled some rose hip syrup for decor which added a lovely flavor to the slightly sour raspberries with every bite! I have to admit, for a quick put together, it was divine and thoroughly enjoyed by hubby (who generally doesn't eats sweets) and myself! (no brainer there!)


In case you didn't know, dark chocolate and raspberries are both considered part of aphrodisiac foods. Hence the truffles on the tray with my Romancing the Bedroom challenge! The two flavors really compliment each other and I have to say, for the more traditional folk, red velvet doesn't only have to be served with Cream Cheese frosting...


Here is the recipe I promised:


Red Velvet (super moist)

1 1/2 cup granulated sugar

2 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1 tsp salt

1 tbsp cocoa powder

1 bottle robertson's red food colouring

1 1/2 cups sunflower oil

1 cup buttermilk

1 tsp vanilla essence

1 tsp white vinegar

2 eggs


Beat eggs, vanilla and salt into the sugar until creamy. In a jug, combine buttermilk, oil, coloring and vinegar, set aside. Sift dry ingredients into the egg mix, add about half the buttermilk mix. Add the bicarb to the last of the buttermilk mix and add to the batter.

Grease two 20cm cake tins well with wax paper in the base and divide batter evenly, baking at 180 Celsius for about 30min. Always check with skewer before removing from oven, sometimes the middle can be a bit gooey.



Do go check out the special blogs presented by Ruffles and Rust and Sawdust and Highheels for Romancing the Home with a Special Dinner for Two!


Wishing you all a very HAPPY VALENTINE'S DAY!


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page