top of page

A Shabby Romantic Yule Wreath

Yule or Yuletide ("Yule time") is a festival observed by the historical Germanic peoples. Scholars have connected the celebration to the Wild Hunt, the god Odin, and the pagan Anglo-Saxon Mōdraniht. It later underwent Christianized reformulation resulting in the term Christmastide.

Terms with an etymological equivalent to Yule are used in the Nordic countries for Christmas with its religious rites, but also for the holidays of this season. Today Yule is also used to a lesser extent in the English-speaking world as a synonym for Christmas. Present-day Christmas customs and traditions such as the Yule log, Yule goat, Yule boar, Yule singing, and others stem from pagan Yule.



A new week and a new challenge! But is it really a challenge when it brings so much joy?

Romancing the Home called for a Festive Wreath and we answered! Bright and cheery reds and greens, the traditional Christmas colors, blush pinks and whites and even blues.


Having a wreath on your front door is just so beautifully inviting!


Here's the process I underwent for my very traditional Yule wreath for my front door. I used the oranges I dried myself, with some small pinecones I bought in a pack of 8 at Superfloral Distributors along with the faux holly leaves and evergreen berry foliage with bundles of fresh pine I harvested from a tree across the street.


I have to just point out that I recently stained my oh-so-rustic dining room table which features as the backdrop in most of my photo's in this blog with Fired Earth's Grey Moon Wood Stain. It goes on with such ease and seals the surface nicely, this color is just amazing! I'm completely in love with it!



I used the mulberry wreath base from my Spring Wreath and wrapped it with a wire faux foliage I found at the China Mall, it gave me room to insert the elements for my wreath!

I really didn't have to look far for the ribbon I chose, after having a look at four different places and being disappointed, don't get me wrong, there are some stunning ribbons out there, it's just that none of them seemed quite what I was looking for.


To make your own dried oranges (I made oranges, lemons and a lone grapefruit that had already started dehydrating in my fruit basket) you simply slice thinly, arrange on wax paper on an over tray and bake on the lowest temperature possible for at least 3 hours, turning every hour. Mine did darken a bit much in my opinion, my electric oven not having all that low a temperature, but I was very successful leaving them outside in the sun for a day (it was an extremely hot day!) I wouldn't suggest this method for anyone in the northern hemisphere.



I ended up cutting a smallish piece of left over ticking from my table runner and made it into two thickness's which have a completely different effect, or at least that's what I think! The smell on this wreath is simply amazing, I can't even begin to describe it, or I would be the writer I dream of being and not just blogging...*sigh*


When I was out and about and looking for inspiration for my wreath, (and other decor...) I happened upon a bargain, I'm a sucker for those; I bought a damaged embroidery hoop and decided to make not one, but TWO wreaths for the season! I used one of the sprigs of faux holly I had bought from Superfloral, decided not to used the wire and pinecones and used my newly acquired glue gun to adhere my elements to the embroidery hoop.



I used some leftover bits of ribbon from the sewing machine cabinet drawer, pale pink satin ribbon, crochet lace and a lovely piece of linen with a black stripe. This beaut has a home in my kitchen, on the glasses cabinet where it's safe!



I just love the personality that becomes so apparent as you get to know someone and see what their hands and hearts create! The last 13 weeks with the ladies from #romancingthehome have been so inspirational! Go and have a look for yourself!





22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page