top of page

Romancing the Home - Cocktail Challenge

Cocktail - noun

An alcoholic drink consisting of a spirit or spirits mixed with other ingredients, such as fruit juice or cream.


Hello again!

Before you continue reading, I want to inform you than I do not have a hangover and did not write this under the influence.

Okay, let's continue...


This week's challenge among Romancing the Home bloggers was simply; COCKTAILS. Which is our favorite? Have we created our own? You'll have to visit everyone's pages and find out! (links below)



As you may have gathered by now, if you've read any of my previous Blogs, I can be a bit of a cheapskate...sorry! Frugal! So when I see melons for sale for R10 - R15 each, I grab them. When you have caterpillars at home who are forever hungry, fruit is the healthiest snack a mom can provide. My caterpillars love just about all fruit and so, I had purchased honeydew melon, watermelon and cantaloupe during the week and really only ran out for some fresh limes (which are no longer in season and pretty pricey, but i got seven in the packet so I don't mind) and strawberries which aren't too badly priced at the moment.



This beautiful bowl which is something like a Pink Sangria but also a punch (anything with rum in a bowl is punch to me) is made as follows:


Melon & Rose Sangria

1 bottle rose

1/2 cup spiced gold

1 tsp rose water

1l lemonade

1 cup watermelon balls

1/2 cup honeydew balls

1/2 cup cantaloupe balls

6 sliced strawberries

1 1/2 sliced lime

fresh mint leaves & rose petals for decoration (and added flavor)



But wait! There's more...

With the same ingredients, I've created two other drinks for you to try, because trust me, they are all lovely! Fresh, fruity and elegant!



Chop all the above ingredients just a bit smaller and place in an ice tray, add 2 drops of rose water to a jug with enough water to fill the ice tray and then allow to set. To serve, pour a single shot of rum over the ice and add lemonade.



For my final occasional cocktail idea, I took my fruit and flowers and put them in an ice lolly mold with two drops of rose flavored water and when set, I presented them individually in a champagne glass and served with Rose Champagne.



So there you go, three ways to jazz up any drink for Summer! ...and they look and taste great! Another idea before you go check out @rufflesandrust and her beautiful ice bucket, is to throw your honeydew melon through a blender with a dash of rum and a cup of ice and serve in a margerita glass with a mint leaf and line slice for decor. Don't forget to visit @keepitfrench and @sawdustandhighheels with her healthier summer cocktail!


Thanks for popping by, see you next week!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page