top of page

Sourdough Part 1

Sourdough Pancakes


You've all heard about it by now, surely?! Well, I did, and as per my nature, I grew curious and did some research and found that it was something I wanted to try out. Going into a worldwide lockdown in a household that eats bread daily as a cheap space filler, I figured it was a good time to start! And so I did...


One cup of flour and one cup of water.


And then caring for it like you would a new puppy! Except that you don't cut the puppy in half and discard it. I could not bring myself to go through the waste. In case you didn't know by now from reading previous blog posts, my middle name is Frannie. And yes, Frugal goes with that! So I cheated, (Jamie Oliver told me how), sorry Farmhouse on Boone! I did two cups of flour and two cups of water with a pack of yeast. I fed that sucker (now lovingly referred to as Carter, the sourdough starter) and then we made pancakes. And bread. And cinnamon rolls. and more pancakes and bread and so forth! I'm sure you get the picture.


I regret that I didn't photo-record this process, but you can check out my friend Ramona @Ruffles.Rust and see how it's done the right way!


The pancakes are a staple in our household now with it being breakfast for our family of six 2-3 times a week. It's a good way for mom and dad to get to enjoy some of the fresh fruit I buy for the house before the caterpillars consume it all!



Sourdough Pancakes


4 eggs

1/2 tsp salt

4 tbs brown sugar

Beat well!

4 cups fed sourdough starter

1/3 cup melted coconut oil

1tsp bicarbonate of soda

Mix well. (tip: as soon as you add the coconut oil, mix in fast to avoid it solidifying in the cooler sourdough)



I use my 1/3 cup measure from the coconut oil for scooping the batter into the *pans. These are single flip pancakes, once there are popped bubble holes in the centre of the pancake, you can turn it.



Yields about 28 12cm pancakes.


*I use cast iron pans which are preheated before use. Please see my blog on Cooking with Cast Iron for more information.



Flavour variations and ideas for toppings:

Fresh fruit:


x4 Pears, sliced (seeds removed) and cooked with 2 tbs butter, 8 tbs brown sugar and 1 tbs water with a tsp ground ginger. Served with a scoop of Vanilla Ice Cream or Double Cream Plain Yoghurt



x4 Apples, sliced (seeds removed) and cooked with 2 tbs butter, 8 tbs brown sugar and 1 tbs water with a tsp ground cinnamon. Serve with a scoop of Ice Cream or Double Cream Plain Yogurt

or


x4 Apples, sliced (seeds removed) and grilled with 1 cup rolled oats with butter and sugar and cinnamon (as above) mixed in with fingers to form crumble, at 200°C for about 15min, stirring now and then to even grill. Throw in 2 tbs raisins in the last 2 minutes or so.

Serve with a scoop of Ice Cream or Double Cream Plain Yoghurt.




x3 Fresh Peaches, sliced with pip removed and cooked in 2 tsb butter, 6 tbs brown sugar

and a 5cm sprig of fresh rosemary. Serve with a scoop of Ice Cream or Double Cream Plain Yoghurt.



Frozen Fruit:


Blueberries are often available throughout the year as a frozen option. Some places have a variety of frozen berries individually packaged for your taste, you can get raspberries, strawberries, blackberries, blackcurrants etc. My general rule for making syrup is to melt butter, add brown sugar and let the fruits juices do the rest.


For the Sweet-Tooth:


Banoffee - Freshly sliced banana's and a sticky toffee sauce.

Chocoholic's Delight - Add some cocoa to your pancake mix, throw in a hand full of choc chips and drizzle with Ganache! I'll be posting that



Long story short, once you get the hang of the pancake making bit, the sky's the limit for additions! We experiment all the time! I even tried grapefruit (DON'T) once. What I do now and then for additional fiber is throw in a cup of bran. It's good for you and a nice change-up to the normal texture. Of course, you can add choc chips to the batter too.


I do hope that if you are a kitchen enthusiast you find this information useful! Let me know if you have any questions! Happy pancake-flipping!


x

Talia








29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page